Search By:

Age:
Category:
Price:

Your Criteria:
Age: All Ages
Price: All Prices
Category: Sporting Goods & Accessories


Name: Ball Claw Storage System
Company: K CONCEPTS LLC
Age: All Ages
Price: $11.99
Category: Sporting Goods & Accessories

Please click here to read TDmonthly´s summary of online toy reviews of this product.

Learn more about Ball Claw Storage System

Back to top



Name: SLIDER™ the Unscooter™
Company: IDEA MILL LLC
Age: 3-99
Price: Not Specified
Category: Sporting Goods & Accessories

Please click here to read TDmonthly´s Toy Expert review of this product.

Learn more about SLIDER™ the Unscooter™

Back to top



Name: Djubi
Company: MoonRacer
Age: 8 and up
Price: $29.99
Category: Sporting Goods & Accessories

What It Is
This outdoor toy consists of two racquets and a custom ball with an elastic ring attached called a “Djubi.” It’s a new and exciting way to play catch while at the park, beach or any open space. There is a special hook on the racquet that allows each player to effortlessly launch the Djubi to the other player. A set comes with two racquets and two Djubis.

What We Thought
Djubi is an innovative game that is fun, versatile and does not take long to get accustomed to. Since there are no rules and no particular way to play, my friend and I made our own rules and created our own game utilizing the Djubi. The ball is soft enough that it would not hurt if it were to hit you. The game definitely has a high entertainment value because it combines the nostalgia of the game of catch with the technology of today.

Why They’ll Want It

Djubi is entertaining because it can be launched fairly accurately more than 100’. The net on the racquet is large enough to make catching the Djubi pretty easy. It is a great product for people who love outdoor games. — Melvin Chua, 12/2/2008

Learn more about Djubi

Back to top



Name: Spalding Rookie Gear
Company: SPALDING SPORTS WORLDWIDE
Age: 6-10
Price: Not Specified
Category: Sporting Goods & Accessories

What It Is
Spalding’s Rookie Gear is a set of lightweight sports balls that is designed in proportion to a child’s size and weight. Each ball can be purchased separately for football, soccer or basketball play. The basketball and soccer ball come in two design choices. The balls are made with the same quality as standard Spalding sports balls, which will give kids a sense of importance and professionalism. They’re ideal for players aged 6 to 10.

What We Thought
Full-sized sports balls are often too heavy and large for children, which makes young players feel clumsy. By engineering a set of balls to match young hands, feet and muscle power, Spalding is sending the message that growing athletes are just as important as their older counterparts. The balls are approximately 25% lighter than standard youth balls, making them easier to toss or kick to impressive lengths.

Why They’ll Want It

Strangely enough, kids love kids-sized things! And what could be better than a set of balls that makes them feel like pros? Even if they have to shoot baskets against Big Bro or Sis to avoid vacuuming the living room this week, they’ll be able to hold their own with these balls designed just for their build and weight. The colorful designs will also appeal to their sense of individuality and playfulness. — Alison Marek, 11-6-08

Learn more about Spalding Rookie Gear

Back to top



Name: FlyBall, The Coach's Friend
Company: PROBALL INC.
Age: 7 and up
Price: $9.95
Category: Sporting Goods & Accessories

Please click here to read TDmonthly´s Toy Expert review of this product.

Learn more about FlyBall, The Coach's Friend

Back to top



Name: The Wave
Company: STREET SURFING LLC
Age: 12 and up
Price: $99.99
Category: Sporting Goods & Accessories

What Is It?
The Wave combines three sports (skateboarding, snowboarding and surfing) into one dynamic adventure. It is uniquely shaped with concave platforms (with an outrageously cool design for the deck plates) conjoined by a spring-oriented torsion bar promoting the “S” shape for self-propelled movement. The Wave is curved at the nose and tail to accommodate tricks, and has traction plates for extra grip and casters that turn 360 degrees for superior control. It comes with an instructional DVD and is packaged with fantastic designs unique to the board you choose.

What We Thought
WOW! This is the most fun I’ve ever had at the skate park. Before “The Wave,” I would have rather just watched, as I’ve experienced more than my share of wipeouts. (Note: Wear protective gear!) Though I’m not an expert in any of the three sports The Wave combines, this did not deter me from practicing and riding the board. Street Surfing has signature helmets and gear that are a must for the boarding enthusiast — which you will soon be after mastering your first “S” shaped, self-propelled move.

Why They’ll Want It
Once you get the moves down with practice, The Wave is a blast! The board is definitely for all seasons, but do avoid dirt and sand. I’ve experienced this and it is NOT fun. I would love to see the famous sportsman Shaun White, a.k.a. “The Flying Tomato,” ride this board at the X Games. — Dena Welter, 2/11/08

Learn more about The Wave

Back to top



Name: Slugga™ the Bat and Ball Carrier
Company: THE ORIGINAL BULLPEN CO (OBC)
Age: 3 and up
Price: $45
Category: Sporting Goods & Accessories

What Is It?
This unique plush cartoon bat-and-ball carrier makes toting baseball equipment a cinch for kids of all ages. The bat slips into Slugga’s face and body, while the ball rounds out his cap-topped head. Although the carrier can be worn like a backpack, Slugga can also hang from the shoulders in the front, so kids can walk with their baseball buddy down the street like real pals. A special padded pillow prevents the base of the bat from slamming against the wearer’s body.

What We Thought
No one in the office had ever seen a product like Slugga for toting baseball equipment. One staffer thought her little nephews would go crazy for it. Though we didn’t have any balls or bats handy, we found Slugga made a good Sno-Fling porter, too.

Why They’ll Want It

Parents of little sluggers who are apt to drop balls into oncoming traffic while running to games will appreciate Slugga. The strap keeps the ball and bat snugly against the wearer, ensuring the safety of both the child and the equipment. — Alison Marek, 12/13/07

Learn more about Slugga™ the Bat and Ball Carrier

Back to top



Name: Spalding Never Flat basketball
Company: SPALDING SPORTS WORLDWIDE
Age: 9 and up
Price: $39.99
Category: Sporting Goods & Accessories

at Is It?
It’s a basketball. A Spalding basketball. A Spalding composite leather indoor/outdoor basketball (29.5”). So it’s the real McCoy. But here’s the twist: It has NitroFlate, a groundbreaking technology developed by former NASA and Dupont scientists, which is guaranteed to keep this basketball holding air up to 10 times longer than traditional basketballs (it is, in fact, guaranteed to stay fully inflated for at least one year — with no additional air needed during that period). Now that’s a basketball.
 
What We Thought
My 7-year-old son is just learning the ins and outs of b-ball (I’m a former Pali High grad, and we lived basketball, mostly for spare change and as a feeder school to UCLA) so we took to the park Saturday morning for a game of hoops. We dribbled, we passed, we dunked (I held him on my shoulders). We kicked the ball around. We played handball with it, dodge ball, and we even dropped the thing from the top of a 10-story building (don’t try this at home; I’m a professional toy reviewer). The ball held up like an NBA champ. And we did it the next Saturday, too. And the next. It is now four months later, and the ball is still as dribble-able (is that a word?) as the day we first tried it. Hasn’t lost a breath of air. Now that’s some basketball. It’s been in pickup games, was lent to a girls’ basketball team for an inside game, and was dropped a few more times from the 10-story building. It definitely lives up to its guarantee.
 
Why They’ll Want It
For a general, all-around, never-worry-about-it basketball, this is it. No muss. No fuss. No pumps. No saggy ball. This gets our full, whole-hearted recommendation. On the Kobe Bryant scale of 1 to 81, this gets a Wilt Chamberlain 100.
-- TDmonthly Staff, 4/24/06


Learn more about Spalding Never Flat basketball

Back to top



Name: SportsRing
Company: NEXT STEP FAMILY OF PRODUCTS
Age: 5 and up
Price: $16.95
Category: Sporting Goods & Accessories

What is It?
SportsRing by Next Step Family of Products (ToyDirectory) is an indoor/outdoor hoop kit that can be used as a miniature basketball hoop, or as a target for play baseball pitches or football passes.

What We Thought
This is more than just another novelty basketball hoop to hang above the trash can; it’s an easy-to-assemble and durable sports toy. The mounting bracket provides an adjustable, versatile method to attach the Ring to horizontal or vertical surfaces. The Ring can also be adjusted for different angles. Backboards are available in lightweight foam, tough sintra plastic, or plexiglass for an authentic NBA look. The foam ball is heavy enough to make throwing, passing or dunking feel like the real thing.

Why They’ll Want It
SportsRing is a fun, inexpensive toy for a kid’s bedroom, college dorm-room or Dad’s office. And it’s made to last.

--Tim Connolly



Learn more about SportsRing

Back to top



Name: Putter & Driver Sets
Company: FRANKLIN SPORTS INC.
Age: 6 and up
Price: $19.99
Category: Sporting Goods & Accessories

What is It?
Franklin’s Putter Set and Driver Set both include a kid-sized club with a contoured grip to teach proper hand position, as well as a small plastic putting green or driving tee and lightweight plastic golf balls. (They won’t break windows.) Both sets feature interactive technology (batteries included) that allows for simulated audience cheering sounds when kids putt or swing.


What We Thought
These simple toy golf sets let kids emulate Dad’s sport of choice without the green fees. The audience applause and calls of “Nice putt!” and “You’re the Man!” are a must for today’s kids, who are weaned on video and interactive toys.


Who Would Like It
Any kid whose dad or mom is a golfer.


--Tim Connolly



Learn more about Putter & Driver Sets

Back to top



Name: Soft & Fun 4 Ball Micro Set
Company: FRANKLIN SPORTS INC.
Age: All Ages
Price: $19.95
Category: Sporting Goods & Accessories

These “Soft & Fun” replicas of your favorite sport balls are a must-have addition to any toy box. The easy-grip texture material that covers the balls is a wonderful addition to the ball market.

The boxed set comes complete with practice techniques for the aspiring young athlete as well as diagrams and measurements to create the full-sized fields of play for volleyball, basketball, football and soccer.

For outdoor fun the Franklin Learn to Play Mini Sports Ball Set is a great starter set. Appealing to kids of all sizes, even adults may find a fun use for the balls in the office or at home.


--Andrew Windchanz



Learn more about Soft & Fun 4 Ball Micro Set

Back to top



Name: Youth Glove & Ball Set
Company: FRANKLIN SPORTS INC.
Age: 3 and up
Price: $9.99
Category: Sporting Goods & Accessories

The Glove and Ball Set from Franklin Sports is great fun for the would-be baseball star of tomorrow.

The leather-like rubber glove is supple and moveable for even small hands and does not require hours of work to make it useable. The ball features an easy grip texture that aids the small hands in catching and throwing.

For less then $10.00, the price is right, considering this age group grows at an amazing rate. Parents will find this set to be both affordable and fun to have around. Learning to play catch has just gotten a whole lot easier.


--Andrew Windchanz



Learn more about Youth Glove & Ball Set

Back to top




 

In the Mailbox...
Send us your toys! The Playzak Magazine editorial staff receives hundreds of toys to be considered for a free Review each year. After a careful evaluation process, a select few are chosen for Editorial Review or are scrutinized by Playzak Magazine's Expert reviewers. Please feel free to call us at 310-979-4330.

Manufacturers who wish to guarantee that their toys will be evaluated in the Review section should send a payment of $150.00 per toy along with the toy itself to:

Product Review Dept.
ToyDirectory.com, Inc.
12340 Santa Monica Blvd., Suite 237
Los Angeles, CA 90025

Please make checks payable to ToyDirectory.com, Inc.

The majority of toys considered for review are donated to children's services organizations in the Los Angeles area such as Children's Hospital Los Angeles.

 


THIS BANNER IS AN AD::



Related Articles
·Segway-Ninebot launched a recreational product called Mecha Kit compatible self-balancing scooters.
(10/1/2021)
·Summer Toys WATER GUN
(7/1/2021)
·Extreme Sports Toys
(2/1/2021)
·Toys to Talk About: Sports
(1/1/2016)
·5 Backyard Toys That Are Totally Worth The Money
(8/1/2015)
Recent Products
Go! Go! Sports Girls Soccer Girl Cassie Read & Play Doll and Book Set
By DREAM BIG TOY COMPANY
» More Information
Kidoozie Hop & Squeak Pogo Jumper
By INTERNATIONAL ARRIVALS
» More Information
Presto Cabana
By PACIFIC PLAY TENTS INC
» More Information